‘Godfathers of AI’ honored with Turing Award, the Nobel Prize of computing

From left to right: Yann LeCun | Photo: Facebook; Geoffrey Hinton | Photo: Google; Yoshua Bengio | Photo: Botler AI

The 2018 Turing Award, known as the “Nobel Prize of computing,” has been given to a trio of researchers who laid the foundations for the current boom in artificial intelligence.

Yoshua Bengio, Geoffrey Hinton, and Yann LeCun — sometimes called the ‘godfathers of AI’ — have been recognized with the $1 million annual prize for their work developing the AI subfield of deep learning. The techniques the trio developed in the 1990s and 2000s enabled huge breakthroughs in tasks like computer vision and speech recognition. Their work underpins the current proliferation of AI technologies, from self-driving cars to automated medical diagnoses.

In fact, you probably interacted with the…

Continue reading…

Main Source

You might also like More from author

Comments are closed.