26 years old. No savings, no formal education. Not much family besides mother who has an expected year left to live. I’m not sure what to do.

More information:

For the past 6 years I’ve worked seasonal seafood jobs to supplement my income. I love the work, but it doesn’t pay enough to live off of so I live with my mom during my time off (about 3 months). I usually pick up a serving job or something.

She’s not expected to live much longer. She owns a crappy car and a house that is valued around $200,000. If sold, the money would be split with my uncle who is our only other living relative. No life insurance policy and under $1000 in her bank account. Also has 5 cats that I don’t think I’ll be able to take care of.

I currently don’t pay rent. I pay for utilities and such, but have never had to budget for the real world. I don’t own a car. I don’t have insurance. I have maybe $700 to my name at the moment.

Sorry if this post is all over or in the wrong place. I’m not sure what to do with the kind of money I would receive from selling the house and I don’t know what to budget for when people die? Loose ends, etc. I think I’m just super overwhelmed right now.

***Edit/Update:

Thank you all so much for genuinely good information and being so kind. I’m for sure going to look into trade schools. To answer some questions: I have my GED, and no debt at all (which is nice.) My mother has aggressive stomach cancer and she lives in Florida. Home is entirely under her name legally and she wants to do the right thing by giving my uncle what he was entitled to when my grandparents passed.

As to how I have no savings: I’ve been doing work travel programs for years and it’s never allowed me to save money or have my own shit. I’m actually currently in Alaska working at a fish processing plant. Health issues have kept me out of the military and also from hopping on a fishing boat unfortunately.

Also am a v single lady with no significant other or siblings and few friends who also lead the same work/travel/repeat lifestyle. I’ve done mostly factory and fish work for a while, but I’ve worked all over the US at summer camps, farms, hostels and national parks. Some jobs pay well, but most pay trash and offer room and board instead.

I want to be honest with you guys, I have no goals or dreams besides live and be not miserable? I fucked off for so long and kind of just stopped thinking about the long term because it hurt my small peanut brain. It’s always just been my mom and I doing our own shit and then hanging out for a couple months before I leave again and it’s been so awesome, but it’s definitely catching up to me now.

submitted by /u/shittypotatosalad
[link] [comments]

Main Source
Author: /u/shittypotatosalad

You might also like More from author

Comments are closed.